• Home

Castle Question

So I’ve been following the new mid-season start-up murder mystery TV series Castle (ABC Monday, 10pm Pacific).  It’s starring one of my favorite dramedic actors, Nathan Fillion, and has been doing a good job of entertaining me so far.  Entertaining, but maybe not challenging.

The setup goes like this:

Its worth as a source of stimulating mystery was called into question with this last Monday’s episode about a city councilman who turns up dead.  Now, I don’t usually get to watch Castle the night it actually airs because I work nights until about 10:30pm.  My wife, gracious and kind woman that she is, records Castle for me, then comes to pick me up (my car has a big hole in its exhaust pipe and I’m relying on public transit and my darling lady to get around). 

So, anyway, I come in and sit down on the couch, talking with Becky while the show plays on in the background.  After ten minutes of watching while maintaining a husbandly conversation, I say, “The wife did it.” 

Becky looks at me and says, “How on Earth could you know that?”

And that is an excellent question.  In my ten minutes of half-watching, I observed the following: the councilman was sleeping with a prostitute, he was being blackmailed, and his wife was on TV giving speeches about how much her husband loved the city.

So the question is this: am I a Holmsian genius of untapped mystery-solving potential, or was the show employing an exceptionally weak riddle? 

Either way, Castle is still on my Must Watch list for sheer character entertainment power, if nothing else.

One Response

  1. I vote for the Holmes one.

Leave a Reply

